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CALIFORNIA REGIONAL WATER QUALITY CONTROL BOARD
LAHONTAN REGION

REPORTING SEWAGE OR HAZARDOUS SUBSTANCE RELEASES

State law (California Water Code section 13271 et seq.) requires that any person
who causes or permits any sewage or hazardous substance to be discharged in
or on any waters of the state, or discharged or deposited where it is, or probably
will be, discharged in or on any waters of the state', shall, as soon as (1) that
person has knowledge of the discharge; (2) notification is possible; and (3)
notification can be provided without substantially impeding cleanup or other
emergency measures, to immediately notify the Office of Emergency Services
(OES) of the discharge. This notification must be done in accordance with
Government Code section 8574.16 et seq. OES shall immediately notify the
appropriate Regional Water Quality Control Board (Water Board) and the local
health officer and director of environmental health of the discharge. The local
health officer and the director of environmental health shall immediately
determine whether notification of the public is required to safeguard public health
and safety.

TO REPORT A DISCHARGE OF SEWAGE OR HAZARDOUS SUBSTANCE

Verbally notify the Governor’s Office of Emergency Services Warning Center at
(916) 845-8911 or (800) 852-7550 (available 24 hr/day)

Why is it important to report a discharge?

Proper and timely notification is imperative to allow government agencies and
downstream users to take prompt action to protect public health and safety, the
environment, and state drinking water supplies.

Penalties for Non-Reporting

Any person who fails to provide the notice required by California Water Code
section 13271 is guilty of a misdemeanor and shall be punished by a fine of not
more than twenty thousand dollars ($20,000) or imprisonment in a county jail for
not more than one year, or both. (Water Code section 13271, subdivision (c).)

Why is reporting necessary?

Pursuant to Water Code section 13271, any unauthorized discharge of sewage in
excess of the 1,000 gallon “reportable quantity” (California Code of Regulations,
title 23, section 2250) must be reported. For the purposes of Water Code section
13271, an authorized discharge is defined to be a discharge, not regulated by

' “Waters of the state” means any surface water or groundwater, including saline waters, within the
boundaries of the state. (Water Code section 13050, subdivision (e).)
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waste discharge requirements, of treated, partially treated, or untreated
wastewater resulting from the intentional or unintentional diversion of wastewater
from a collection, treatment, or disposal systems. (California Code of
Regulations, title 23, section 2550, subdivision (b).)

What about discharges of less than 1,000 gal. of sewage?

These should also be reported if the discharge is (or will be):

e To waters of the state (waters of the state include all waters within the
boundaries of the state, whether public or private, whether in a natural or
artificial channel and whether surface or subsurface)

e To the ground within five feet of groundwater or within 500 feet of a
surface water, water well, or domestic water supply source

e Causing a pollution or threatened pollution?
e Causing a nuisance®
e Causing a potential threat to public health

What am | to report to the \Water Board later, after initial notification to OES?

If you have a permit (e.g., waste discharge requirements, 401 Water Quality
Certification, etc.) from the Water Board for a discharge of waste, the permit
requires that a written report of the spill (or unauthorized discharge) be sent to
the Water Board within ten (10) days after the incident. A Form that can be used
to make the report to the Water Board is available at:
http://www.waterboards.ca.gov/lahontan/water_issues/available _documents/misc
[spillnot.pdf.

? “Pollution” means an alteration of the quality of the waters of the State to a degree within unreasonably
affects (1) such waters for beneficial uses, or (2) facilities which serve such beneficial uses. (Water Code
section 13050, subdivision (1). “Pollution” may include “contamination.” (/bid.) “Contamination” means
an impairment of the quality of the waters of the state by waste to a degree which creates a hazard to the
public health through poisoning or through the spread of disease. (Water Code section 13050, subdivision
(k).) “Contamination” includes any equivalent effect resulting from the disposal of waste, whether or not
waters of the state are affected. (/bid.)

? “Nuisance” means anything which meets all of the following requirements:

(1) Is injurious to health, or is indecent or offensive to the senses, or an obstruction to the free use of
property, so as to interfere with the comfortable enjoyment of life or property.

(2) Affects at the same time an entire community or neighborhood, or any considerable number of
persons, although the extent of the annoyance or damage inflicted upon individuals may be

unequal.

(3) Occurs during, or as a result of, the treatment or disposal of wastes.


http://www.waterboards.ca.gov/lahontan/water_issues/available_documents/misc/spillnot.pdf
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Where can | find more information about reporting a release of hazardous
materials?

Reporting requirements for hazardous materials can be found on the Office of
Emergency Services (OES) website at http://www.oes.ca.gov (under “Hazardous
Materials,” California Hazardous Material Spill/Release Notification Guidance.

http://www.oes.ca.gov/Operational/ OESHome.nsf/PDF/Spill%20Notification%20
Guide/$file/SpilINotif06.pdf).

The OES Hazardous Materials Unit staff is also available for questions at (916)
845-8741.


http://www.oes.ca.gov/
http://www.oes.ca.gov/Operational/OESHome.nsf/PDF/Spill%20Notification%20Guide/$file/SpillNotif06.pdf

