State of California
Office of Administrative Law

Inre: NOTICE OF APPROVAL OF EMERGENCY

State Water Resources Control Board REGULATORY ACTION
Regulatory Action:

Title 23, California Code of Regulations Government Code Sections 11346.1 and

11349.6
Adopt section: 1070.5
A i . ’ y » ’
mend sections }333 1064, 1066, 1068 OAL Matter Number: 2017-1027-04E

OAL Matter Type: Emergency (E)

In this emergency rulemaking, the State Water Resources Control Board is both
adopting section 1070.5 and amending sections 1062, 1064, 1066, 1068, and 1070 in
title 23 of the California Code of Regulations. These changes (1) increase annual water
right fees to conform to amounts appropriated by the Legislature from the Water Rights
Fund; (2) adjust the caps on application and petition filing fees based on the consumer
price index; (3) incorporate new fees related to the addition of cannabis-related water
rights activities; and (4) create a new, lower fee for petitions to split existing permits or
licenses under certain circumstances.

OAL approves this emergency regulatory action pursuant to sections 11346.1 and
11349.6 of the Government Code.

This emergency regulatory action is effective on 11/6/2017 and will remain in effect until
revised by the Board pursuant to Water Code section 1530.
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Attorney

For: Debra M. Cornez
Original: Eileen Sobeck Director
Copy:  Ryan Wilson
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23 CCR § 1062
§ 1062. Filing Fees for Water Right Applications.

(a) A person who files a water right application shall pay to the board a filing fee as

follows:
(1)(A) Except as provided in subparagraphs (B) through (E), the fee for a water
right application shall be $1,000, plus $15 for each acre-foot that the applicant
seeks to divert in excess of 10 acre-feet. The total fee shall not exceed
$606:145518,899, plus any additional fee due pursuant to subparagraphs (2) and
(3).
(B) At a facility where a small hydroelectric generating facility meets the criteria
for a Class 28 categorical exemption under the California Environmental Quality
Act, as established in California Code of Regulations, title 14, section 15328, the
fee shall be $1,000.
(C) The fee for an application for a temporary permit filed under Water Code
section 1425, other than a permit described in subparagraph (D) or (E) of this
subdivision, shall be the greater of either (i) 50 percent of the fee calculated
under subparagraph (A), above, or (ii) $2,000. '
(D) The fee for an application for a temporary permit under Water Code section
1425 for a small hydroelectric generating facility that meets the criteria for a
Class 28 categorical exemption under the California Environmental Quality Act,
as established in California Code of Regulations, title 14, section 15328, shall be
$1,000. The filing fee includes the annual permit fee if a temporary permit is
issued.
(E) The fee for an application for a temporary permit, or renewal of a temporary
permit, filed under Water Code section 1425 that is solely for purposes of
diverting water from high flow events to underground storage for later beneficial
use shall be $100 plus $1.00 for every 100 acre-feet of water the applicant
diverts to underground storage under the permit in excess of 10,000 acre-feet.
The portion of the application fee based on the amount diverted shall be due
within 30 days of actual diversion, and shall be accompanied by a report of the
amount actually diverted.
(2) If a water right application is accompanied by a petition to revise a declaration
of fully appropriated stream systems, then $10,000 shall be added to the fee.
(3) If a water right application is accompanied by a petition for assignment of a
state-filed application pursuant to Water Code section 10504, then $5,000 shall
be added to the fee.

(b) A person who filed a water right application on or after July 1, 2003, and prior to
January 1, 2004, shall pay a supplemental filing fee equal to the difference between the
filing fee already paid and the amount due pursuant to the regulation in effect on
January 1, 2004.

(c) The application filing fee includes a non-refundable initial review fee of $250 or the
amount of the application fee, whichever is less.
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Note: Authority cited: Sections 1058 and 1530, Water Code. Reference: Sections 1425,
1426, 1525, 1535 and 1551, Water Code.

23 CCR § 1064
§ 1064. Filing Fees for Petitions or Requests.

(a) A person who files a petition or a request for release from priority shall pay to the
board a filing fee for each water right application, permit or license covered by the
petition or request in accordance with this section. ‘
(1) For purposes of calculating the filing fee, a petition to change one or more
terms of a single application, permit, license, or other water right shall be
considered a single petition, provided that action can be taken on the changes
simultaneously, except that a petition for an extension of time shall be considered
a separate petition, subject to a separate fee, from a petition to change one or
more other terms in a water right. A petitioner requesting changes to more than
one application, permit, license, or other water right shall file a separate petition
or petitions for each water right and a filing fee shall be required for each petition.
A separate filing fee shall be required for each change petition subsequently filed
on a water right that is already the subject of a pending petition for change.
(A) Except as provided in subparagraphs (i), (i), ard-(iii) and (iv), the fee for a
petition to change the terms of an application, permit or license shall be as
follows. The fee shall be a minimum of $1,000. If the total annual amount of
diversion sought by the pending application or authorized by the permit or
license, as calculated in accordance with section 1066, is greater than 10 acre-
feet, then the petitioner shall pay an additional $0.30 for each acre-foot in excess
of 10 acre-feet. The total fee shall not exceed $6;3686,518.
(i) The fee for a petition for change pursuant only to Water Code section
1707 shall be $850.
(i) The fee for a change petition involving a transfer of water pursuant to
Water Code section 382, 1435, 1701, 1725, or 1735 shall be $2,000, plus
$0.30 for each acre-foot that the petitioner seeks to transfer in excess of
10 acre-feet. The fee shall be based on the maximum amount of water
proposed to be transferred annually, not the amount of water proposed to
be transferred over the entire term of the transfer. The total fee shall not
exceed $506;445518,899.
(iii) The fee for a petition for extension of time shall be $1,000.
(iv) The fee for a petition for issuance of separate permits or licenses
pursuant to section 836, where there are no changes to the authorized
point of diversion, place of use, purpose of use, or any other material term
of the permit or license other than as necessary for the split, shall be

$850.
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(2) The fee for a petition to change the point of discharge, place of use, or
purpose of use of treated wastewater pursuant to Water Code section 1211 shall
be $1,000.
(3) The fee for a request for release from priority of a state-filed application
pursuant to Water Code section 10504 shall be $5,000.
(4) The fee for a petition filed pursuant to Water Code section 1228.7 to change
the point of diversion or place of use under a registration of an appropriation for
small domestic or livestock stockpond er-small-irrigation use shall be $250$500.
(5) The fee for a petition filed pursuant to Water Code section 1228.7 to change
the point of diversion or place of use under a registration of an appropriation for
small irrigation use shall be $750.
(b) A person who filed a petition or a request for release from priority on or after
July 1, 2003, and prior to January 1, 2004, shall pay a supplemental filing fee equal to
the difference between the filing fee already paid and the amount due pursuant to the
regulation in effect on January 1, 2004.

(c) The petition filing fee includes a non-refundable $250 initial review fee.

Note: Authority cited: Sections 1058 and 1530, Water Code. Reference: Sections 386,
1228.7, 1525 and 1535, Water Code.

23 CCR § 1066
§ 1066. Annual Fees for Permits or Licenses.

(a) A person who holds a water right permit or license shall pay a minimum annual fee
of $150. If the total annual amount of diversion authorized by the permit or license is
greater than 10 acre-feet, then the permittee or licensee shall pay an additional
$6-0660.069 for each acre-foot in excess of 10 acre-feet.

(1) For permits or licenses issued prior to the beginning of the year for which the
fee is imposed, the board shall calculate annual fees according to the total
annual amount of diversion authorized by the permit or license as of the
beginning of the year.

(2) The board shall calculate annual fees for permits issued on or after the
beginning of the year according to the total annual amount of diversion
authorized by the permit as issued by the board.

(b) The board shall calculate the annual fee based on the total annual amount of
diversion authorized by the permit or license, without regard to the availability of water
for diversion or any bypass requirements or other conditions or constraints that may
have the practical effect of limiting diversions but do not constitute a condition of the
permit or license that expressly sets a maximum amount of diversion.
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(1) If the permit or license does not expressly identify the total annual amount of
diversion, the board shall calculate the total annual amount based on the rate of
authorized diversion multiplied by the length of time in the authorized season of
diversion. :

(2) If the permit or license contains an annual diversion limitation that is
applicable only to that permit or license, and the limitation is less than the
calculated diversion volume, the fee shall be based on the amount specified in
the limitation.

(3) If a person holds multiple water rights that contain an annual diversion
limitation that is applicable to the combination of those rights, but the person may
still divert the full amount authorized under a particular right, then the fee shall be
based on the total annual amount for that individual right.

Note: Authority cited: Sections 1058 and 1530, Water Code. Reference: Sections 1525,
1536 and 1537, Water Code.

23 CCR § 1068

§ 1068. Registration Fees for Small Domestic, Livestock Stockpond and
Small Irrigation Uses.

(a) A person who registers an appropriation of water for small domestic, livestock
stockpond or small irrigation,_other than small irrigation use for cannabis, use
pursuant to Water Code section 1228.3 shall pay to the board a non-refundable
registration fee of $250. ~

(b) A person who renews such a registration, other than for small irrigation use for
cannabis, pursuant to Water Code section 1228.5 shall pay to the board a
renewal fee of $100.

(c) A person who registers an appropriation of water for small irrigation use pursuant
to Water Code section 1228.3, for which cannabis cultivation is an intended use,
shall pay to the board a non-refundable annual fee of $750.

Note: Authority cited: Sections 1058 and 1530, Water Code. Reference: Sections
1228.3, 1228.5 and 1525, Water Code.
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23 CCR § 1070
§ 1070. Notice of Extraction and Diversion of Water.

(@  Aperson who files a notice under division 2, part 5 (commencing with section
4999) of the Water Code, shall pay to the board a filing fee of $50 except as provided in
subdivision (b).

(b) A person who files a notice under division 2, part 5 (commencing with section
4999) of the Water Code and is subject to the exception provided by Water Code

section 5202 subdivision (c)(3) shall pay to the board a filing fee pursuant to the fee
schedule provided in article 3 of chapter 4.5.

Note: Authority cited: Sections 1058, 1529.5 and 1530, Water Code. Reference:
Sections 1529, 1535, and 5006 and 5202, Water Code.

23 CCR § 1070.5
§ 1070.5 Statements of Water Diversion and Use for Cannabis Cultivation.

(a) A person who files a statement of water diversion and use pursuant to
division 2, part 5.1 (commencing with section 5100) of the Water Code that
reports water was used for cannabis cultivation, shall pay to the board a filing

fee of $200.

Note: Authority cited: Sections 1058 and 1530, Water Code. Reference: Sections 1525
and 5101, Water Code.




