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In response to the ongoing severe drought, on Tuesday the State Water Resources Control Board 

approved an emergency regulation to ensure water agencies, their customers and state residents 

increase water conservation in urban settings or face possible fines or other enforcement. 

The new conservation regulation is intended to reduce outdoor urban water use. The regulation, 

adopted by the State Water Board, mandates minimum actions to conserve water supplies both for 

this year and into 2015.  Most Californians use more water outdoors than indoors.  In some areas, 

50 percent or more of daily water use is for lawns and outdoor landscaping. 

Many communities and water suppliers have taken bold steps over the years and in this year to 

reduce water use; however, many have not and much more can and should be done statewide to 

extend diminishing water supplies. 

With this regulation, all Californians will be expected to stop: washing down driveways and 

sidewalks; watering of outdoor landscapes that cause excess runoff; using a hose to wash a motor 

vehicle, unless the hose is fitted with a shut-off nozzle, and using potable water in a fountain or 

decorative water feature, unless the water is recirculated.  The regulation makes an exception for 

health and safety circumstances. 

Larger water suppliers will be required to activate their Water Shortage Contingency Plan to a level 

where outdoor irrigation restrictions are mandatory.  In communities where no water shortage 

contingency plan exists, the regulation requires that water suppliers either limit outdoor irrigation to 

twice a week or implement other comparable conservation actions. Finally, large water suppliers 

must report water use on a monthly basis to track progress.  

Local agencies could ask courts to fine water users up to $500 a day for failure to implement 

conservation requirements in addition to their existing authorities and processes. The State Water 

Board could initiate enforcement actions against water agencies that don’t comply with the new 

regulations.  Failure to comply with a State Water Board enforcement order by water agencies is 

subject to up to a $10,000 a day penalty. 

“We are facing the worst drought impact that we or our grandparents have ever seen,” said State 

Water Board Chair Felicia Marcus.  “And, more important, we have no idea when it will end. This 



 
drought’s impacts are being felt by communities all over California.  Fields are fallowed; 

communities are running out of water, fish and wildlife will be devastated.  The least that urban 

Californians can do is to not waste water on outdoor uses. It is in their self-interest to conserve 

more, now, to avoid far more harsh restrictions, if the drought lasts into the future. These 

regulations are meant to spark awareness of the seriousness of the situation, and could be 

expanded if the drought wears on and people do not act.”  

 

In addition to approving the emergency conservation regulation today, the State Water Board 

made a plea for water suppliers, communities and businesses to do even more. For example, 

water agencies are being asked to step up their programs to fix leaks and other sources of water 

loss, use more recycled water or captured stormwater, and find additional ways to incentivize 

demand reduction among their customers.  

 

The new regulation was developed following two drought emergency declarations by Governor 

Brown. On January 17, Governor Edmund G. Brown Jr. issued a drought emergency proclamation 

following three dry or critically dry years in California. 

   

The April 25 Executive Order issued by the Governor directs the State Water Board to adopt an 

emergency regulation as it deems necessary, pursuant to Water Code section 1058.5, to ensure 

that urban water suppliers implement conservation measures.  

 

As drought conditions continue, the State Water Board may revisit this regulation and consider 

other measures to enhance conservation efforts throughout the state.  

 

Following Board adoption, the regulation will likely go into effect on or about August 1, following 

submittal to the Office of Administrative Law. The emergency regulation remains in effect for 270 

days, unless extended by the State Water Board due to ongoing drought conditions.  

For more information on the proposals leading to this Board action, please visit the Emergency 
Water Conservation website. 

Governor Brown has called on all Californians to reduce their water use by 20 percent and prevent 

water waste – visit SaveOurH2O.org to find out how everyone can do their part, and visit 

Drought.CA.Gov to learn more about how California is dealing with the effects of the drought. 

http://www.swrcb.ca.gov/waterrights/water_issues/programs/drought/emergency_regulations_waterconservation.shtml
http://www.swrcb.ca.gov/waterrights/water_issues/programs/drought/emergency_regulations_waterconservation.shtml
http://saveourh2o.org/
http://ca.gov/drought/

