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All monitoring activities shall meet the following requirements:  
1. Samples and measurements taken for the purpose of monitoring shall be representative of the 

monitored activity. [40 CFR 122.41(j)(1)] 

2. Permittees shall retain records of all monitoring information, including all calibration and 
maintenance of monitoring instrumentation, and copies of all reports required by this Order 
for a period of at least five (5) years from the date of the sample, measurement, report, or 
application. This period may be extended by request of the Water Board or USEPA at any 
time and shall be extended during the course of any unresolved litigation regarding this 
discharge. [40 CFR 122.41(j)(2), CWC section 13383(a)]  

3. Records of monitoring information shall include [40 CFR 122.41(j)(3)]:  

a. The date, exact place, and time of sampling or measurements; 

b. The individual(s) who performed the sampling or measurements; 

c. The date(s) analyses were performed; 

d. The individual(s) who performed the analyses; 

e. The analytical techniques or methods used; and,  

f. The results of such analyses. 

4. The CWA provides that any person who falsifies, tampers with, or knowingly renders 
inaccurate any monitoring device or method required to be maintained under this Order shall, 
upon conviction, be punished by a fine of not more than $10,000, or by imprisonment for not 
more than two years, or both. If a conviction of a person is for a violation committed after a 
first conviction of such person under this paragraph, punishment is a fine of not more than 
$20,000 per day of violation, or by imprisonment of not more than four years, or both. [40 
CFR 122.41(j)(5)]  

5. Calculations for all limitations which require averaging of measurements shall utilize an 
arithmetic mean unless otherwise specified in the monitoring Provisions. [40 CFR 
122.41(l)(4)(iii)]  

6. All chemical, bacteriological, and toxicity analyses shall be conducted at a laboratory 
certified for such analyses by the California Department of Health Services or a laboratory 
approved by the Executive Officer. 

7. For priority toxic pollutants that are identified in the California Toxics Rule (CTR) (65 Fed. 
Reg. 31682), the Permittees shall instruct its laboratories to establish calibration standards 
that are equivalent to or lower than the Minimum Levels (MLs) published in Appendix 4 of 
the Policy for Implementation of Toxics Standards for Inland Surface Waters, Enclosed 
Bays, and Estuaries of California (SIP). If a Permittee can demonstrate that a particular ML 
is not attainable, in accordance with procedures set forth in 40 CFR 136, the lowest 
quantifiable concentration of the lowest calibration standard analyzed by a specific analytical 
procedure (assuming that all the method specified sample weights, volumes, and processing 
steps have been followed) may be used instead of the ML listed in Appendix 4 of the SIP. 
The Permittee must submit documentation from the laboratory to the Water Board for 
approval prior to raising the ML for any priority toxic pollutant. 
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8. The Clean Water Act provides that any person who knowingly makes any false statement, 
representation, or certification in any record or other document submitted or required to be 
maintained under this permit, including monitoring reports or reports of compliance or non-
compliance shall, upon conviction, be punished by a fine of not more than $10,000 per 
violation, or by imprisonment for not more than six months per violation, or by both. [40 
CFR 122.41(k)(2)]  

9. If the discharger monitors any pollutant more frequently than required by the Permit, unless 
otherwise specified in the Order, the results of this monitoring shall be included in the 
calculation and reporting of the data submitted in the reports requested by the Water Board. 
[40 CFR 122.41(l)(4)(ii)] 

 
 

 


