
CALIFORNIA REGIONAL WATER QUALITY CONTROL BOARD 
CENTRAL VALLEY REGION 

 
ADMINISTRATIVE CIVIL LIABILITY COMPLAINT R5-2009-0561 

 
MANDATORY PENALTY 

IN THE MATTER OF 
 

CALIFORNIA DEPARTMENT OF FISH AND GAME AND 
EAST BAY MUNICIPAL UTILITY DISTRICT 

MOKELUMNE RIVER FISH HATCHERY 
SAN JOAQUIN COUNTY 

 
This Complaint is issued to the California Department of Fish and Game and East Bay 
Municipal Utility District (hereafter Discharger) pursuant to California Water Code (CWC) 
section 13385, which authorizes the imposition of Administrative Civil Liability, and CWC 
section 13323, which authorizes the Executive Officer to issue this Complaint.  This Complaint 
is based on findings that the Discharger violated provisions of Waste Discharge Requirements 
(WDRs) Orders 97-116 and R5-2004-0122 (NPDES No. CA0004791). 
 
The Executive Officer of the Central Valley Regional Water Quality Control Board (Central 
Valley Water Board or Board) finds the following: 
 
1. The Discharger owns and operates the Mokelumne River Fish Hatchery. Fish hatchery 

waste is discharged into the Mokelumne River, a water of the United States. 
 
2. On 20 June 1997, the Central Valley Water Board adopted WDRs Order 97-116 to 

regulate discharges of waste from the fish hatchery.  The WDRs included effluent 
limitations and other requirements regarding the waste discharges.  On 
10 September 2004, the Board adopted WDRs Order R5-2004-0122, which contained 
new requirements and rescinded WDRs Order 97-116.   

 
3. On 6 August 2009, Central Valley Water Board staff sent the Discharger a draft Record of 

Violations.  The Discharger has not responded. 
 
4. CWC sections 13385(h) and (i) require assessment of mandatory penalties and state, in 

part, the following: 
 
CWC section 13385(h)(1) states, 

Notwithstanding any other provision of this division, and except as provided in subdivisions 
(j), (k), and (l), a mandatory minimum penalty of three thousand dollars ($3,000) shall be 
assessed for each serious violation. 

 
CWC section 13385 (h)(2) states,  

For the purposes of this section, a “serious violation” means any waste discharge that 
violates the effluent limitations contained in the applicable waste discharge requirements for 
a Group II pollutant, as specified in Appendix A to Section 123.45 of Title 40 of the Code of 
Federal Regulations, by 20 percent or more or for a Group I pollutant, as specified in 
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Appendix A to Section 123.45 of Title 40 of the Code of Federal Regulations, by 40 percent 
or more. 

 
CWC section 13385(i)(1) states,  

Notwithstanding any other provision of this division, and except as provided in subdivisions 
(j), (k), and (l), a mandatory minimum penalty of three thousand dollars ($3,000) shall be 
assessed for each violation whenever the person does any of the following four or more 
times in any period of six consecutive months, except that the requirement to assess the 
mandatory minimum penalty shall not be applicable to the first three violations: 

A) Violates a waste discharge requirement effluent limitation. 
B) Fails to file a report pursuant to Section 13260. 
C) Files an incomplete report pursuant to Section 13260. 
D) Violates a toxicity effluent limitation contained in the applicable waste discharge 

requirements where the waste discharge requirements do not contain pollutant-specific 
effluent limitations for toxic pollutants. 

 
5. CWC section 13323 states, in part:  

Any executive officer of a regional board may issue a complaint to any person on whom 
administrative civil liability may be imposed pursuant to this article. The complaint shall 
allege the act or failure to act that constitutes a violation of law, the provision authorizing civil 
liability to be imposed pursuant to this article, and the proposed civil liability. 

 
6. WDRs 97-116 Effluent Limitations (001 and 002) B.1. states in part:  “Effluent shall not 

exceed the following limits:” 
 

Constituents Units 
Monthly 
Average 

Daily 
Maximum 

Total Suspended Solids (TSS) mg/L (001, 002) 8 151 

1 To be ascertained by a 24-hour composite 
 
7. WDRs Order R5-2004-0122, Effluent Limitations B.2, states, in part:  “Effluent…shall not 

have a pH less than 6.5 nor greater than 8.5.  If the effluent pH is less than 6.5, it shall 
not be less than the concurrent influent pH.  If the effluent pH is greater than 8.5, it shall 
not be greater than the concurrent influent pH.” 

 
8. According to the Discharger’s self-monitoring reports, the Discharger committed one (1) 

serious violation of the above effluent limitations contained in Orders 97-116 and 
R5-2004-0122 during the period beginning 1 January 2000 and ending 30 June 2009.  
The mandatory minimum penalty for the one (1) serious violation is three thousand 
dollars ($3,000). 

 
9. According to the Discharger’s self-monitoring reports, the Discharger committed one (1) 

non-serious violation of the above effluent limitations contained in Orders 97-116 and R5-
2004-0122 during the period beginning 1 January 2000 and ending 30 June 2009.  The 
non-serious violation is not subject to mandatory penalties under CWC section 
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13385(i)(1) because this violation was not preceded by three or more similar violations 
within a six-month period.   

 
10. The total amount of the mandatory penalties assessed for the cited effluent violation is 

three thousand dollars ($3,000).  A detailed list of the cited effluent violations is included 
in Attachment A, a part of this Complaint.  

 
11. Issuance of this Administrative Civil Liability Complaint to enforce CWC Division 7, 

Chapter 5.5 is exempt from the provisions of the California Environmental Quality Act 
(Pub. Resources Code section 21000 et seq.), in accordance with California Code of 
Regulations, title 14, section 15321(a)(2). 

 
CALIFORNIA DEPARTMENT OF FISH AND GAME AND EAST BAY MUNICIPAL UTILITY 
DISTRICT ARE HEREBY GIVEN NOTICE THAT: 
 
1. The Executive Officer of the Central Valley Water Board proposes that the Discharger be 

assessed an Administrative Civil Liability in the amount of three thousand dollars 
($3,000). 

 
2. A hearing on this matter will be conducted at the Central Valley Water Board meeting 

scheduled on 9/10 December 2009, unless either of the following occurs by 
26 October 2009: 

 
a) The Discharger waives the hearing by completing the attached form (checking off the 

box next to Option #1) and returning it to the Central Valley Water Board, along with 
payment for the proposed civil liability of three thousand dollars ($3,000); or 

 
b) The Board agrees to postpone any necessary hearing after the Discharger requests to 

engage in settlement discussions by checking off the box next to Option #2 on the 
attached form, and returns it to the Board along with a letter describing the issues to 
be discussed; or 

 
c)  The Board agrees to postpone any necessary hearing after the Discharger requests a 

delay by checking off the box next to Option #3 on the attached form, and returns it to 
the Board along with a letter describing the issues to be discussed. 

 
3. If a hearing on this matter is held, the Central Valley Water Board will consider whether to 

affirm, reject, or modify the proposed Administrative Civil Liability, or whether to refer the 
matter to the Attorney General for recovery of judicial civil liability. 

 
 
  Original signed by Joe Karkoski for  
 PAMELA C. CREEDON, Executive Officer 
 
  25 September 2009  
 DATE 
Attachment A:  Record of Violations 
BLH:  17-Nov-09 



 

WAIVER FORM  
FOR ADMINISTRATIVE CIVIL LIABILITY COMPLAINT 

 
By signing this waiver, I affirm and acknowledge the following: 

I am duly authorized to represent California Department of Fish and Game and the East Bay Municipal Utility 
District (hereafter Discharger) in connection with Administrative Civil Liability Complaint R5-2009-0561 (hereafter 
Complaint). I am informed that California Water Code section 13323, subdivision (b), states that, “a hearing 
before the regional board shall be conducted within 90 days after the party has been served. The person who has 
been issued a complaint may waive the right to a hearing.” 

□ (OPTION 1: Check here if the Discharger waives the hearing requirement and will pay in full.)  

a. I hereby waive any right the Discharger may have to a hearing before the Central Valley Water Board. 

b. I certify that the Discharger will remit payment for the proposed civil liability in the full amount of three 
thousand dollars ($3,000) by check that references “ACL Complaint R5-2009-0561.” made payable to 
the State Water Pollution Cleanup and Abatement Account. Payment must be received by the Central 
Valley Water Board by 26 October 2009.  

c. I understand the payment of the above amount constitutes a proposed settlement of the Complaint, and 
that any settlement will not become final until after a 30-day public notice and comment period. Should 
the Central Valley Water Board receive significant new information or comments during this comment 
period, the Central Valley Water Board’s Executive Officer may withdraw the complaint, return payment, 
and issue a new complaint. I also understand that approval of the settlement will result in the Discharger 
having waived the right to contest the allegations in the Complaint and the imposition of civil liability. 

d. I understand that payment of the above amount is not a substitute for compliance with applicable laws 
and that continuing violations of the type alleged in the Complaint may subject the Discharger to further 
enforcement, including additional civil liability. 

□ (OPTION 2: Check here if the Discharger waives the 90-day hearing requirement in order to engage in 
settlement discussions.) I hereby waive any right the Discharger may have to a hearing before the Central 
Valley Water Board within 90 days after service of the complaint, but I reserve the ability to request a hearing in 
the future. I certify that the Discharger will promptly engage the Central Valley Water Board Prosecution Team in 
settlement discussions to attempt to resolve the outstanding violation(s). By checking this box, the Discharger 
requests that the Central Valley Water Board delay the hearing so that the Discharger and the Prosecution Team 
can discuss settlement. It remains within the discretion of the Central Valley Water Board to agree to delay the 
hearing. Any proposed settlement is subject to the conditions described above under “Option 1.” 

□ (OPTION 3: Check here if the Discharger waives the 90-day hearing requirement in order to extend the 
hearing date and/or hearing deadlines. Attach a separate sheet with the amount of additional time 
requested and the rationale.) I hereby waive any right the Discharger may have to a hearing before the Central 
Valley Water Board within 90 days after service of the complaint. By checking this box, the Discharger requests 
that the Central Valley Water Board delay the hearing and/or hearing deadlines so that the Discharger may have 
additional time to prepare for the hearing. It remains within the discretion of the Central Valley Water Board to 
approve the extension.  
 

   
 (Print Name and Title) 
 
   
 (Signature) 
 
   
 (Date) 
 



ATTACHMENT A 
ADMINISTRATIVE CIVIL LIABILITY COMPLAINT NO. R5-2009-0561 

CA Department of Fish and Game and East Bay Municipal Utilities District 
Mokelumne River Fish Hatchery 

 
RECORD OF VIOLATIONS (1 January 2000 – 30 June 2009) MANDATORY PENALTIES 

(Data reported under Monitoring and Reporting Programs 97-116 and R5-2004-0122) 
 

 Date 
Violation 

Type Units Limit Measured Period Type Remarks CIWQS 

1 12-Dec-01 TSS mg/L 8 12.9 Monthly 1 218676 

2 27-Mar-06 pH pH Units 6.5 6.4 
Instantaneou

s 3 368314 
 
Remarks: 

1. Serious Violation: For Group I pollutants that exceed the effluent limitation by 40 percent or more. 
2. Serious Violation: For Group II pollutants that exceed the effluent limitation by 20 percent or more. 
3. Non-serious violation falls within the first three violations in a six-month period, thus is exempt. 
4. Non-serious violation subject to mandatory penalties. 

 
 VIOLATIONS AS OF: 6/30/2009 
 Group I Serious Violations:  1 
 Group II Serious Violations: 0 
 Non-Serious Exempt from MPs: 1 
 Non-serious Violations Subject to MPs: 0 
 Total Violations Subject to MPs: 1 
 
Mandatory Minimum Penalty = (1 Serious Violation + 0 Non-Serious Violation) x $3,000 = $3,000 

 
 


