

BOARD OF SUPERVISORS COUNTY OF MADERA

MADERA COUNTY GOVERNMENT CENTER 200 WEST FOURTH STREET / MADERA, CALIFORNIA 93637 (559) 675-7700 / FAX (559) 673-3302 / TDD (559) 675-8970 MEMBERS OF THE BOARD

FRANK BIGELOW DAVID ROGERS RONN DOMINICI MAX RODRIGUEZ TOM WHEELER

TANNA G. BOYD, Clerk of the Board September 19, 2011

Jeanine Townsend Clerk to the Board State Water Resources Control Board 1001 I Street, 24th Floor Sacramento, CA 95814 <u>Commentletters@waterboards.ca.gov</u>

Re: Opposition to Caltrans MS4 NPDES Permit

Dear State Water Board Members and Staff:

I am writing to express opposition to the State Water Board's proposed Caltrans MS4 NPDES Permit. This permit, as drafted, would impose extensive new regulations on all future Caltrans road construction projects that far surpass what the federal government requires from states under the Federal Clean Water Act.

If implemented, Caltrans estimates that the draft permit would drain an estimated \$600 million annually from state road construction projects each year. Such enormous costs would result in the elimination of thousands of jobs in the construction industry at a time when our economy can hardly afford further job losses.

I am concerned that the proposed permit would significantly shift Caltrans' focus from improving roadways to retrofitting existing infrastructure to meet the permit's requirements. This would worsen road conditions, create unsafe driving environments, and force California motorists to pay more for driving on under maintained roadways.

While I support efforts to improve water quality, there is no evidence that these proposed regulations would proportionally improve water quality to justify spending \$600 million taxpayer dollars each year.

For these reasons, I oppose the proposed Caltrans MS4 NPDES permit and requests that the State Water Board work with Caltrans to come up with a more cost-effective permit that improves water quality without defunding our transportation system.

Sincerely,

Frank Bigelow, Chairman

Supervisor, District 1

cc: Senator Tom Berryhill Senator Anthony Cannella Assembly member Kristen Olsen Assembly member Linda Halterman Madera County Supervisors Madera County CAO Madera County Road Commissioner