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NOTICE OF PROPOSED EMERGENCY RULEMAKING

Water Rights Fees

Amendments to Division 3 of Title 23 of the California Code of Regulations

Required Notice of Proposed Emergency Action

Government Code section 11346.1, subdivision (a)(2) requires that, at least five working days
prior to submission of a proposed emergency action to the Office of Administrative Law (OAL),
the adopting agency must provide a notice of the proposed emergency action to every person
who has filed a request for notice of regulatory action with the agency. After the submission of
the proposed emergency action to OAL, OAL shall allow interested persons five calendar days
to submit comments on the proposed emergency regulations, as set forth in Government Code
section 11349.6. This document provides the required notice.

Proposed Emergency Action

Effective January 1, 2004, the Water Code was amended to require the State Water Resources
Control Board (State Water Board) to adopt emergency regulations revising and establishing
fees to be deposited in the Water Rights Fund in the State Treasury. (Wat. Code, 88 1525,
1530, 1551, 13160.1.) The Water Code authorizes the State Water Board to periodically adjust
the fees and requires the State Water Board to revise the fee schedule each fiscal year as
necessary to conform to the revenue levels set forth in the annual Budget Act. Accordingly,
each year, the State Water Board has reviewed and revised the fee schedule as necessary, as
required by the Water Code. On September 19, 2012, the State Water Board adopted
Resolution 2012-0047, which revised the emergency water rights fee regulations and schedules
consistent with the revenue levels set forth in the Budget Act for Fiscal Year (FY) 2012-13 and
included the Small Irrigation Use registration program in the fee structure consistent with Water
Code section 1525.

Proposed Text of Emergency Regulations
See the attached proposed text of the emergency regulations.

Finding of Emergency (Gov. Code, § 11346.1, subd. (b))

The State Water Board has a mandatory legal duty to adopt emergency regulations revising the
fees as necessary each fiscal year pursuant to the Water Code. (Wat. Code, 88 1525, subd.
(d)(1), 1530, subd. (a), 13160.1, subd. (d)(1).) Water Code sections 1530, subdivision (b) and
13160.1, subdivision (d)(2) state that “[t]he adoption of these regulations is an emergency and
shall be considered by the Office of Administrative Law as necessary for the immediate
preservation of the public peace,
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Attachment 3

STATE WATER RESOURCES CONTROL BOARD
EMERGENCY REGULATIONS

Amendments to Division 3 of Title 23 of the California Code of Regulations

Amend the following section:
§ 1062. Filing Fees for Water Right Applications.

(a) A person who files a water right application shall pay to the board a filing fee as
follows:

(1)(A) Except as provided in subparagraphs (B) and (C), the fee for a water right
application shall be $1,000, plus $15 for each acre-foot that the applicant seeks to divert
in excess of 10 acre-feet. The total fee shall not exceed $460,281$472,248, plus any
additional fee due pursuant to subparagraphs (2) and (3).

(B) At a facility where a small hydroelectric generating facility meets the criteria for a
Class 28 categorical exemption under the California Environmental Quality Act, as
established in California Code of Regulations, title 14, section 15328, the fee shall be
$1,000.

(C) The fee for an application for a temporary permit filed under Water Code section
1425 shall be the greater of either (i) 50 percent of the fee calculated under
subparagraph (A), above, or (i) $2,000; except that the fee for an application for a
temporary permit at a small hydroelectric generating facility that meets the criteria for a
Class 28 categorical exemption under the California Environmental Quality Act, as
established in California Code of Regulations, title 14, section 15328, shall be $1,000.
The filing fee includes the annual permit fee if a temporary permit is issued.

(2) If a water right application is accompanied by a petition to revise a declaration of fully
appropriated stream systems, then $10,000 shall be added to the fee.

(3) If a water right application is accompanied by a petition for assignment of a state-filed
application pursuant to Water Code section 10504, then $5,000 shall be added to the
fee.

(b) A person who filed a water right application on or after July 1, 2003, and prior to
January 1, 2004, shall pay a supplemental filing fee equal to the difference between the
filing fee already paid and the amount due pursuant to the regulation in effect on
January 1, 2004.

(c) The application filing fee includes a non-refundable $250 initial review fee.

Authority cited: Sections 1058 and 1530, Water Code. Reference: Sections 1425, 1426,
1525 and 1535, Water Code.



Amend the following section:
§ 1064. Filing Fees for Petitions or Requests.

(a) A person who files a petition or a request for release from priority shall pay to the
board a filing fee for each water right application, permit or license covered by the
petition or request in accordance with this section.

(1) For purposes of calculating the filing fee, a petition to change one or more terms of a
single application, permit, license, or other water right shall be considered a single
petition, provided that action can be taken on the changes simultaneously, except that a
petition for an extension of time shall be considered a separate petition, subject to a
separate fee, from a petition to change one or more other terms in a water right. A
petitioner requesting changes to more than one application, permit, license, or other
water right shall file a separate petition or petitions for each water right and a filing fee
shall be required for each petition. A separate filing fee shall be required for each
change petition subsequently filed on a water right that is already the subject of a
pending petition for change.

(A) Except as provided in subparagraphs (i), (ii), and (iii), the fee for a petition to change
the terms of an application, permit or license shall be as follows. The fee shall be a
minimum of $1,000. If the total annual amount of diversion sought by the pending
application or authorized by the permit or license, as calculated in accordance with
section 1066, is greater than 10 acre-feet, then the petitioner shall pay an additional
$0.30 for each acre-foot in excess of 10 acre-feet. The total fee shall not exceed
$5:782$5,932.

(i) The fee for a petition for change pursuant only to Water Code section 1707 shall be
$850.

(ii) The fee for a change petition involving a transfer of water pursuant to Water Code
section 382, 1435, 1701, 1725, or 1735 shall be $2,000, plus $0.30 for each acre-foot
that the petitioner seeks to transfer in excess of 10 acre-feet. The fee shall be based on
the maximum amount of water proposed to be transferred annually, not the amount of
water proposed to be transferred over the entire term of the transfer. The total fee shall
not exceed $460,281$472,248.

(iii) The fee for a petition for extension of time shall be $1,000.

(2) The fee for a petition to change the point of discharge, place of use, or purpose of
use of treated wastewater pursuant to Water Code section 1211 shall be $1,000.

(3) The fee for a request for release from priority of a state-filed application pursuant
to Water Code section 10504 shall be $5,000.

(4) The fee for a petition filed pursuant to Water Code section 1228.7 to change the point
of diversion or place of use under a registration of an appropriation for small domestic-e¥,
livestock stockpond or small irrigation use shall be $250.




(b) A person who filed a petition or a request for release from priority on or after

July 1, 2003, and prior to January 1, 2004, shall pay a supplemental filing fee equal to
the difference between the filing fee already paid and the amount due pursuant to the
regulation in effect on January 1, 2004.

(c) The petition filing fee includes a non-refundable $250 initial review fee.

Authority cited: Sections 1058 and 1530, Water Code. Reference: Sections 386, 1525
and 1535, Water Code.

Amend the following section:
§ 1068. Registration Fees for Small Domestic-ard, Livestock Stockpond and
Small Irrigation Uses.

(a) A person who registers an appropriation of water for small domestic-er, livestock
stockpond or small irrigation use pursuant to Water Code section 1228.3 shall pay to the
board a registration fee of $250.

(b) A person who renews such registration pursuant to Water Code section 1228.5 shall
pay to the board a renewal fee of $100.

Authority cited: Sections 1058 and 1530, Water Code. Reference: Sections 1228.3,
1228.5, 1229, and 1525, Water Code.
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health, safety, and general welfare.” Notwithstanding chapter 3.5 (commencing with section
11340) of part 1 of division 3 of title 2 of the Government Code, the emergency regulations shall
remain in effect until revised by the State Water Board. (lbid.)

Moreover, the State Water Board finds that the amendments to the regulations must be adopted
immediately in order to allow for the timely collection of fees consistent with the Budget Act.
Without fee revenue in the amounts established by the Budget Act, much of the water rights
program would have to be shut down. Continued administration of the water rights program is
essential to the economy and environment of the State of California. Without funding for the
program, critical water transfers and changes in water project operations would not be
approved, the security of water rights needed for the state's water supply projects would be
undermined, and the environment would be threatened. New water supply projects for irrigation
or municipal use, and modification of existing projects involving changes in permitted or licensed
water rights, could not move forward. The water rights program also is important for the
protection of public health. For example, the water rights program applies and enforces Bay-
Delta water quality standards that protect the drinking water supplies for 22 million Californians.
In sum, adoption of the regulations is necessary for the immediate preservation of the public
health and welfare.

The State Water Board is unable to address the situation through non-emergency regulations
because, as discussed above, it has a mandatory legal duty to adopt the fee schedules by
emergency regulation.

Authority and Reference (Gov. Code, § 11346.5, subd. (a)(2))

Water Code sections 1058 and 1530 provide authority for the emergency regulations. The
revised emergency regulations implement, interpret, or make specific Water Code sections 386,
1525, 1529 1535, 1536 and 1537.

Informative Digest (Gov. Code, § 11346.5, subd. (a)(3))

Under the Water Code and existing regulations, a person filing a water right application, petition,
registration, groundwater recordation or other filing, must pay a filing fee to the State Water
Board. Existing regulations also establish annual fees for water rights permits, licenses, water
leases, and applications. In addition, the existing regulations establish requirements for filing a
petition for reconsideration of a fee determination made by the State Water Board. The water
rights fee regulations and schedules are contained in division 3 of title 23 of the California Code
of Regulations.

In general, the emergency regulations would adjust the fee schedule to: (1) add a registration
filing, renewal and petition fee for Small Irrigation Registrations in compliance with Water Code
section 1229, subdivision (c) and (2) adjust the caps on application and petition filing fees based
on the consumer price index.

The purpose of the emergency regulations is to revise the water rights fee schedules consistent
with the Budget Act for Fiscal Year 2012-13.

There is no comparable federal statute or regulation.

Other Matters Prescribed by Statute (Gov. Code, 8§ 11346.5, subd. (a)(4))
No other matters are prescribed by statute or regulation applicable to the State Water Board.
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Local Mandate (Gov. Code, § 11346.5, subd. (a)(5))

The proposed emergency regulations do not impose a mandate on local agencies or school
districts because they do not mandate a new program or a higher level of service of an existing
program. The fee schedule applies equally to public and private entities, and is not unique to
local government. No state reimbursement is required by part 7 (commencing with section
17500) of division 4 of the Government Code.

Estimate of Cost or Savings (Gov. Code, § 11346.5, subd. (a)(6))

Given the likelihood of state or local agencies being subject to fees greater than the current
filing fee cap, the fact that those same agencies in general pass along all water right fees to the
contractors, or otherwise recover such costs, and state and local agencies generally do not hold
registrations, it is unlikely that any state or local agencies will see increased costs as a result of
the emergency regulations. There is no cost to any local agency or school district for which
reimbursement is required. There is no cost or savings in federal funding to the state.
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