STATE WATER RESOURCES CONTROL BOARD RESOLUTION NO. 2018-0033

AUTHORIZING STATE WATER RESOURCES CONTROL BOARD EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR OR DESIGNEE TO ACCEPT FUNDS FROM THE UNITED STATES ENVIRONMENTAL PROTECTION AGENCY TO CONTINUE CONTAMINANT SOURCE INVESTIGATION ACTIVITIES IN THE SAN FERNANDO VALLEY BASIN

WHEREAS:

- 1. The San Fernando Valley Groundwater Basin (San Fernando Basin) is an important source of drinking water for the Los Angeles metropolitan area;
- 2. Portions of the San Fernando Basin are polluted with volatile organic compounds, hexavalent chromium, and chemicals of emerging concern such as 1,4-dioxane, 1,2,3-trichloropropane, N-nitrododimethylamine, and perchlorate;
- 3. The San Fernando Valley groundwater basin was placed on the United States Environmental Protection Agency's (U.S. EPA) National Priorities List in 1986;
- The Los Angeles Regional Water Quality Control Board (Los Angeles Regional Water Board) has been working with U.S. EPA to investigate sources of groundwater contamination in the San Fernando Valley for more than two decades to identify potential responsible parties;
- 5. Current U.S. EPA funding for San Fernando Basin investigations will expire the end of August 2018; and
- 6. U.S. EPA intends to provide a new two-year grant in an amount up to \$600,000 to fund Los Angeles Regional Water Board staff to continue source identification activities and other Superfund program activities in the San Fernando Valley.

THEREFORE BE IT RESOLVED THAT:

The State Water Resources Control Board (State Water Board) authorizes the State Water Board's Executive Director or designee to accept up to \$600,000 in federal grant funds for Fiscal Year 2018-19 and Fiscal Year 2019-20 to continue contaminant source identification and other activities in the San Fernando Valley.

CERTIFICATION

The undersigned, Clerk to the Board, does hereby certify that the foregoing is a full, true, and correct copy of a resolution duly and regularly adopted at a meeting of the State Water Board held on July 24, 2018.

AYE: Board Member Tam M. Doduc Board Member Dorene D'Adamo Board Member E. Joaquin Esquivel

NAY: None

ABSENT: Chair Felicia Marcus Vice Chair Steven Moore

ABSTAIN: None

ne Joursend

Jeanine Townsend Clerk to the Board