## STATE WATER RESOURCES CONTROL BOARD RESOLUTION NO. 2019-0022

AUTHORIZING THE EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR OR DESIGNEE TO ACCEPT GRANT FUNDS FROM THE UNITED STATES ENVIRONMENTAL PROTECTION AGENCY (U.S. EPA) TO CONTINUE CONTAMINANT SOURCE INVESTIGATION ACTIVITIES IN THE SAN FERNANDO VALLEY GROUNDWATER BASIN

## WHEREAS:

- 1. The San Fernando Valley Groundwater Basin (San Fernando Basin) is an important source of drinking water for the Los Angeles metropolitan area.
- 2. Portions of the San Fernando Basin are polluted with volatile organic compounds, hexavalent chromium, and chemicals of emerging concern such as 1,4-dioxane,
  - 1,2,3-trichloropropane, N-nitrosodimethylamine, and perchlorate.
- 3. The San Fernando Basin was placed on the U.S. EPA's National Priorities List in 1986.
- 4. The Los Angeles Regional Water Quality Control Board (Los Angeles Regional Water Board) has been working with the U.S. EPA to investigate sources of groundwater contamination in the San Fernando Basin for more than two decades to identify potential responsible parties since the 1980s.
- 5. Current U.S. EPA funding for San Fernando Basin investigations will expire the end of June 2019.
- 6. The proposed U.S. EPA two-year grant up to \$600,000 will fund Los Angeles Regional Water Board staff to continue source identification activities and other Superfund program activities in the San Fernando Basin.

## THEREFORE BE IT RESOLVED THAT:

The State Water Resources Control Board (State Water Board):

1. Authorizes the Executive Director or designee to accept up to \$600,000 in federal grant funds for Fiscal Year 2019-2020 and Fiscal Year 2020-2021 to continue contaminant source identification and other activities in the San Fernando Basin.

2. Authorizes the Executive Director or designee to execute a cooperative agreement with U.S. EPA.

## **CERTIFICATION**

The undersigned, Clerk to the Board, does hereby certify that the foregoing is a full, true, and correct copy of a resolution duly and regularly adopted at a meeting of the State Water Board held on June 18, 2019.

AYE: Chair E. Joaquin Esquivel

Board Member Tam M. Doduc Board Member Laurel Firestone

NAY: None

ABSENT: Vice Chair Dorene D'Adamo

**Board Member Sean Maguire** 

ABSTAIN: None

Jeanine Townsend Clerk to the Board

eanine Joursand