STATE WATER RESOURCES CONTROL BOARD RESOLUTION NO. 2024-0025

AUTHORIZING ACCEPTANCE OF FUNDS FROM THE LOS ANGELES DEPARTMENT OF WATER AND POWER TO CONTINUE CONTAMINANT SOURCE INVESTIGATION ACTIVITIES IN THE SAN FERNANDO VALLEY GROUNDWATER BASIN, NORTHWEST OF THE SAN FERNANDO VALLEY SUPERFUND AREAS

WHEREAS:

- 1. The San Fernando Valley Groundwater Basin (San Fernando Basin) is an important source of drinking water for the Los Angeles Metropolitan Area;
- Portions of the San Fernando Basin are polluted with volatile organic compounds, hexavalent chromium, and chemicals of emerging concern such as 1,4-dioxane, 1,2,3-trichloropropane, N-nitrosodimethylamine (NDMA), perchlorate, and per- and polyfluoroalkyl substances (PFAS);
- 3. Many of the Los Angeles Department of Water and Power's (LADWP) drinking water supply wells in the San Fernando Basin have been impacted by the pollution described above;
- 4. The Los Angeles Regional Water Quality Control Board (Los Angeles Regional Water Board) has been working under an existing Memorandum of Understanding (MOU) with LADWP that has funded investigation of potential sources of the pollution described above;
- 5. The existing MOU will expire on December 31, 2024;
- 6. LADWP has agreed to fund a new five-year MOU starting January 1, 2025; and
- 7. LADWP will provide approximately \$1,800,000 to fund Los Angeles Regional Board staff to continue contaminant source investigation activities in the San Fernando Basin from January 1, 2025 through December 31, 2029.

THEREFORE BE IT RESOLVED THAT:

The State Water Board:

1. Authorizes the Executive Director or designee to accept funds totaling approximately \$1,800,000 from LADWP to fund Los Angeles Regional Board staff to continue contaminant source investigation activities in the San Fernando Basin.

CERTIFICATION

The undersigned Clerk to the Board does hereby certify that the foregoing is a full, true, and correct copy of a resolution duly and regularly adopted at a meeting of the State Water Resources Control Board held on August 6, 2024.

AYE: Chair E. Joaquin Esquivel Vice Chair Dorene D'Adamo Board Member Sean Maguire Board Member Laurel Firestone

NAY: None

ABSENT: Board Member Nichole Morgan

ABSTAIN: None

tney Tyler

Courtney Tyler Clerk to the Board