
23 CCR § 1062 

§ 1062. Filing Fees for Water Right Applications. 

 

(a) A person who files a water right application shall pay to the board a filing fee as 

follows: 

(1)(A) Except as provided in subparagraphs (B) and (C), the fee for a water right 

application shall be $1,000, plus $15 for each acre-foot that the applicant seeks 

to divert in excess of 10 acre-feet.  The total fee shall not exceed 

$482,609489,848, plus any additional fee due pursuant to subparagraphs (2) and 

(3). 

(B) At a facility where a small hydroelectric generating facility meets the criteria 

for a Class 28 categorical exemption under the California Environmental Quality 

Act, as established in California Code of Regulations, title 14, section 15328, the 

fee shall be $1,000. 

(C) The fee for an application for a temporary permit filed under Water Code 

section 1425 shall be the greater of either (i) 50 percent of the fee calculated 

under subparagraph (A), above, or (ii) $2,000; except that the fee for an 

application for a temporary permit at a small hydroelectric generating facility that 

meets the criteria for a Class 28 categorical exemption under the California 

Environmental Quality Act, as established in California Code of Regulations, title 

14, section 15328, shall be $1,000.  The filing fee includes the annual permit fee 

if a temporary permit is issued. 

(2) If a water right application is accompanied by a petition to revise a declaration 

of fully appropriated stream systems, then $10,000 shall be added to the fee. 

(3) If a water right application is accompanied by a petition for assignment of a 

state-filed application pursuant to Water Code section 10504, then $5,000 shall 

be added to the fee. 

 

(b) A person who filed a water right application on or after July 1, 2003, and prior to 

January 1, 2004, shall pay a supplemental filing fee equal to the difference between the 

filing fee already paid and the amount due pursuant to the regulation in effect on 

January 1, 2004. 

 

(c) The application filing fee includes a non-refundable $250 initial review fee. 

 

Note: Authority cited: Sections 1058 and 1530, Water Code. Reference: Sections 1425, 

1426, 1525 and 1535, Water Code. 

 

23 CCR § 1064 

§ 1064. Filing Fees for Petitions or Requests. 

(a) A person who files a petition or a request for release from priority shall pay to the 

board a filing fee for each water right application, permit or license covered by the 

petition or request in accordance with this section. 
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(1) For purposes of calculating the filing fee, a petition to change one or more 

terms of a single application, permit, license, or other water right shall be 

considered a single petition, provided that action can be taken on the changes 

simultaneously, except that a petition for an extension of time shall be considered 

a separate petition, subject to a separate fee, from a petition to change one or 

more other terms in a water right.  A petitioner requesting changes to more than 

one application, permit, license, or other water right shall file a separate petition 

or petitions for each water right and a filing fee shall be required for each petition. 

A separate filing fee shall be required for each change petition subsequently filed 

on a water right that is already the subject of a pending petition for change. 

(A) Except as provided in subparagraphs (i), (ii), and (iii), the fee for a petition to 

change the terms of an application, permit or license shall be as follows.  The fee 

shall be a minimum of $1,000.  If the total annual amount of diversion sought by 

the pending application or authorized by the permit or license, as calculated in 

accordance with section 1066, is greater than 10 acre-feet, then the petitioner 

shall pay an additional $0.30 for each acre-foot in excess of 10 acre-feet.  The 

total fee shall not exceed $6,0626,153. 

(i) The fee for a petition for change pursuant only to Water Code section 

1707 shall be $850. 

(ii) The fee for a change petition involving a transfer of water pursuant to 

Water Code section 382, 1435, 1701, 1725, or 1735 shall be $2,000, plus 

$0.30 for each acre-foot that the petitioner seeks to transfer in excess of 

10 acre-feet.  The fee shall be based on the maximum amount of water 

proposed to be transferred annually, not the amount of water proposed to 

be transferred over the entire term of the transfer.  The total fee shall not 

exceed $482,609489,848. 

(iii) The fee for a petition for extension of time shall be $1,000. 

(2) The fee for a petition to change the point of discharge, place of use, or 

purpose of use of treated wastewater pursuant to Water Code section 1211 shall 

be $1,000. 

(3) The fee for a request for release from priority of a state-filed application 

pursuant to Water Code section 10504 shall be $5,000. 

(4) The fee for a petition filed pursuant to Water Code section 1228.7 to change 

the point of diversion or place of use under a registration of an appropriation for 

small domestic or livestock stockpond or small irrigation use shall be $250. 

(b) A person who filed a petition or a request for release from priority on or after  

July 1, 2003, and prior to January 1, 2004, shall pay a supplemental filing fee equal to 

the difference between the filing fee already paid and the amount due pursuant to the 

regulation in effect on January 1, 2004. 

 

(c) The petition filing fee includes a non-refundable $250 initial review fee. 

 

Note: Authority cited: Sections 1058 and 1530, Water Code. Reference: Sections 386, 

1525 and 1535, Water Code. 
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23 CCR § 1066 

§ 1066. Annual Fees for Permits or Licenses. 

(a) A person who holds a water right permit or license shall pay a minimum annual fee 

of $150.  If the total annual amount of diversion authorized by the permit or license is 

greater than 10 acre-feet, then the permittee or licensee shall pay an additional 

$0.0530.058 for each acre-foot in excess of 10 acre-feet. 

 

(1) For permits or licenses issued prior to the beginning of the year for which the 

fee is imposed, the board shall calculate annual fees according to the total 

annual amount of diversion authorized by the permit or license as of the 

beginning of the year. 

(2) The board shall calculate annual fees for permits issued on or after the 

beginning of the year according to the total annual amount of diversion 

authorized by the permit as issued by the board. 

 

(b) The board shall calculate the annual fee based on the total annual amount of 

diversion authorized by the permit or license, without regard to the availability of water 

for diversion or any bypass requirements or other conditions or constraints that may 

have the practical effect of limiting diversions but do not constitute a condition of the 

permit or license that expressly sets a maximum amount of diversion. 

 

(1) If the permit or license does not expressly identify the total annual amount of 

diversion, the board shall calculate the total annual amount based on the rate of 

authorized diversion multiplied by the length of time in the authorized season of 

diversion. 

(2) If the permit or license contains an annual diversion limitation that is 

applicable only to that permit or license, and the limitation is less than the 

calculated diversion volume, the fee shall be based on the amount specified in 

the limitation. 

(3) If a person holds multiple water rights that contain an annual diversion 

limitation that is applicable to the combination of those rights, but the person may 

still divert the full amount authorized under a particular right, then the fee shall be 

based on the total annual amount for that individual right. 

 

Note: Authority cited: Sections 1058 and 1530, Water Code. Reference: Sections 1525, 

1536 and 1537, Water Code. 

 

23 CCR § 3833.1 

§ 3833.1. Annual Fees for FERC Licensed Hydroelectric Projects. 

(a) Each applicant seeking water quality certification for an activity that includes, or 

involves construction or modification of facilities for the purpose of, producing 

hydroelectric power, where the activity or facilities require the issuance or amendment 

of a FERC license, shall pay an annual fee in accordance with this section. 
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(b)(1) An annual fee calculated pursuant to paragraphs (4) and (5) shall apply in each 

fiscal year (July 1 through June 30) during or after the year in which review in 

anticipation of consideration of certification is initiated as specified in paragraph (2) and 

until and including the fiscal year in which certification and related federal proceedings 

are complete as specified in paragraph (3). 

(2) Review in anticipation of consideration of certification shall be deemed to 

have been initiated when any of the following occurs or has occurred: 

(A) A notice of intent is filed pursuant to 18 CFR § 5.5 or 18 CFR § 16.6. 

(B) Consultation is initiated pursuant to 18 CFR § 4.38. 

(C) An application for water quality certification is filed. 

(3) Certification and related proceedings shall be deemed to have been 

completed when any of the following occurs: 

(A) FERC issues or denies the license or license amendment for which review in 

anticipation of consideration of certification was initiated. 

(B) FERC determines that no license, other than a license already in effect, or 

license amendment is required. 

(C) The applicant abandons the proposed activity, including withdrawal or 

surrender of any applicable notification of intent, FERC preliminary permit, FERC 

license application, or other application for FERC approval. 

(4) The annual fee shall be $1,000 plus $ 0.342430 per kilowatt, based on the 

authorized or proposed installed generating capacity of the hydroelectric facility. 

(A) In the case of an application for an original, new or subsequent license, as 

those terms are used in Parts 4, 5 and 16 of Title 18 of the CFR, the annual fee 

shall be based on the installed generating capacity of the facility as proposed in 

the notification of intent, application for FERC license, application for certification, 

or existing license that is proposed for takeover or relicensing, whichever is 

greatest. 

(B) In the case of a proposed amendment to an existing FERC license, the 

component of the fee based on installed generating capacity shall be based on 

the amount by which the installed generating capacity of the hydroelectric facility 

would be increased by the proposed amendment. 

(5) If an applicant for certification has paid any deposit pursuant to subdivision (b) 

of section 3833 as that subdivision was in effect before January 1, 2004, the 

state board shall credit against the annual fee specified in paragraph (4) any 

portion of that deposit that was for costs incurred after June 30, 2003.  If an 

applicant for certification was required to pay but did not pay any deposit 

pursuant to subdivision (b) of section 3833 as that subdivision was in effect 

before January 1, 2004, the annual fee shall include any unpaid deposit, less any 

portion of that unpaid deposit that was for costs incurred after June 30, 2003, in 

addition to the annual fee specified in paragraph (4). 

(6) If an application for certification is filed for an activity for which no annual fees 

have previously been imposed, the annual fee shall be due upon filing of the 

application for certification, and shall be paid to the state board.  In all other 

cases, the annual fee shall become due thirty days after the State Board of 
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Equalization gives notice of the fee, and shall be paid to the State Board of 

Equalization. 

 

(c)(1) The holder of any FERC license for a hydroelectric project for which water quality 

certification has been issued shall pay an annual fee in the amount of $100 plus $0.125 

per kilowatt, based on the authorized installed generating capacity of the hydroelectric 

project. 

(2) The fee imposed under this subdivision shall not apply in the fiscal year when 

the FERC license is issued if an annual fee is imposed in that fiscal year 

pursuant to subdivision (b). 

 

(3) The annual fee imposed under this subdivision shall be due thirty days after 

the State Board of Equalization gives notice of the fee, and shall be paid to the 

State Board of Equalization. 

 

(d)(1) A determination by the state board that an applicant is required to pay a fee under 

this section or paragraph (1) of subdivision (b) of section 3833, and any determination 

by the state board regarding the amount of that fee, is subject to review under chapter 4 

(commencing with Section 1120) of part 1 of division 2 of the Water Code.  Any petition 

by an applicant to the state board for review shall be submitted in accordance with that 

chapter and article 12 (commencing with section 768) of chapter 2 of division 3 of this 

title. 

(2) If the subject of a petition for reconsideration relates to an annual fee, other 

than an annual fee first required to be paid pursuant to paragraph (1) of 

subdivision (b) of section 3833, the board's decision regarding an annual fee 

shall be deemed adopted on the date of assessment by the State Board of 

Equalization.  The petition must be received by the board within 30 days of the 

date of assessment by the State Board of Equalization. 

 

Note: Authority cited: Section 13160.1, Water Code. Reference: Section 13160.1, Water 

Code. 

 


