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Warden John Marshall

California Men’s Colony
P.O.Box 8101

San Luis Obispo, CA 93409-8101

Dear Mr. Marshall:

COMPLAINT FOR MANDATORY MINIMUM PENALTY, CALIFORNIA DEPARTMENT OF
CORRECTIONS, CALIFORNIA MEN’S COLONY, SAN LUIS OBISPO COUNTY

Attached is Complaint for Mandatory Minimum Penalty No. R3-2005-0122 (Complaint). The Complaint

" is based on violations of effluent limitations in Waste Discharge Requirements Order No. 01-001,
National Pollutant Discharge Elimination System Permit No. CA0047856, from April 1, 2004 through
June 30, 2005. The attached Complaint specifies the occurrence dates and nature of the violations.

Unless you waive your right to a public hearing and pay the amount proposed in the Complaint ($39,000), we
will present an Order to the Regional Water Quality Control Board, Central Coast Region (Central Coast
Water Board) for the amount proposed in the Complaint at the Central Coast Water Board meeting on
December 2, 2005, at the above address. The meeting is scheduled to begin at 8:30 a.m.; however, no specific
time has been set for consideration of this item. '

California Water Code Section 13385(1), allows up to $27,000 of the penalty amount to be expended on a
supplemental environmental project (SEP) in accordance with the State Water Resources Control Board’s
Water Quality Enforcement Policy. You may submit a proposal for one or more SEPs. If you do choose
to submit a proposal, please submit it for our consideration no later than October 12, 2005. The Water
Quality Enforcement Policy specifies the criteria a SEP must meet to qualify for funding at
www.swreb.ca.gov/plnspols/wgep.doc.  You may find a number of SEPs listed, as well as other useful
information, on our website at: www.swrcb.ca.gov/rwqcb3/sep/index.htm.

Please review the Complaint carefully and submit your comments and/or your Waiver of Hearing form and
copy of payment, or an SEP proposal by October 12, 2005. If you have questions, please contact Matt
Thompson at (805) 549-3159 or Harvey Packard at (805) 542-4639.

Sincerely,
,ﬂ/: /L//&k s
Roger W. Briggs
7 Executive Officer
Attachment: Mandatory Minimum Penalty Complaint No. R3-2005-0122
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cC:

John Kellerman

California Men’s Colony

P.0O. Box 8101

San Luis Obispo, CA 93409-8101

Chris Swanberg, Staff Counsel

California Department of Corrections and Rehabilitation
1515 S Street, Room 3145

Sacramento, CA 95814

Dan Berman

Morro Bay National Estuary Program
601 Embarcadero, Suite 11

Morro Bay, CA 93442
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CALIFORNIA REGIONAL WATER QUALITY CONTROL BOARD
CENTRAL COAST REGION
895 Aerovista Lane, Suite 101
San Luis Obispo, California 93401

COMPLAINT NO. R3-2005-0122

MANDATORY PENALTY
IN THE MATTER OF
CALIFORNIA DEPARTMENT OF CORRECTIONS
CALIFORNIA MEN’S COLONY
SAN LUIS OBISPO COUNTY

This complaint to assess Mandatory Minimum Penalties pursuant to Water Code section 13385(h) and (i) is
issued to the California Department of Corrections, California Men’s Colony (Discharger), based on a finding
of violations of Waste Discharge Requirements Order No. 01-001, National Pollutant Discharge Elimination
System (NPDES) Permit No. CA0047856.

The Executive Officer finds the following:

1.

On February 2, 2001, the Regional Water Quality Control Board, Central Coast Region (Central Coast
Water Board), adopted Waste Discharge Requirements Order No. 01-001, NPDES Permit No.
CA0047856, for California Department of Corrections, California Men's Colony, San Luis Obispo County
(Order No. 01-001). '

California Water Code section 13385(h)(1) requires the Central Coast Water Board to assess a mandatory
penalty of three thousand dollars ($3,000) for each serious violation.

California Water Code section 13385(i) requires the Central Coast Water Board to assess a mandatory
penalty of three thousand dollars ($3,000) for each violation, not counting the first three violations, if the
discharger does any of the following four or more times in a consecutive six-month period:

a) Violates a waste discharge requirement effluent limitation;

b) Fails to file a report pursuant to Section 13260;

¢) Files an incomplete report pursuant to Section 13260; or

d) Violates a toxicity effluent limitation contained in the applicable waste discharge requirements where
the waste discharge requirements do not contain pollutant-specific effluent ‘limitations for toxic
pollutants.

California Water Code section 13385(l) states that “(1) In lieu of assessing penalties pursuant to
subdivision (h) or (i), the...regional board, with the concurrence of the discharger, may direct a portion of
the penalty amount to be expended on a supplemental environmental project in accordance with the
enforcement policy of the state board. If the penalty amount exceeds fifteen thousand dollars ($15,000),
the portion of the penalty amount that may be directed to be expended on a supplemental environmental
project may not exceed fifteen thousand dollars ($15,000) plus 50 percent of the penalty amount that
exceeds fifteen thousand dollars ($15,000).

California Water Code section 13385(h)(2) provides a serious violation occurs if the discharge exceeds the
effluent limitations for a Group II pollutant, as specified in Appendix A to section 123.45 of Title 40 Code
of Federal Regulations, by 20 percent or more or for a Group I pollutant, as specified in Appendix A to
section 123.45 of Title 40 Code of Federal Regulations, by 40 percent or more.
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6. Order No. 01-001 includes in part the following:

Effluent Limitation No. 1:

September 19, 2005

«Effluent daily dry weather flow rate shall not exceed a 30-day average of 1.2 MGD...”

Effluent Limitation No. 4:

“Effluent shall not have a pH less than 6.5 or greater than 8.3.”

Effluent Limitation No. 5:

“Effluent shall not have a dissolved oxygen concentration of less than 2.0 mg/L.”

Effluent Limitation No. 6:

“Effluent shall not have a measurable chlorine residual (greater than 0.1 mg/L).

1

7. Dry Weather Flow Rate is a Group I Pollutant. Chlorine Residual is a Group II Pollutant. Dissolved
Oxygen and pH are neither Group I or Group II Pollutants. Effluent containing constituent values that are
greater than or equal to the limit + 40% for Group I pollutants or the limit + 20% for Group II pollutants
are serious violations.

8. A chronic violation occurs when effluent contains a constituent at a concentration that is less than the
serious threshold but greater than the permit limit.

9. According to monitoring reports submitted by the Discharger, the Discharger committed the following
violations of effluent limitations of Order No. 01-001 in the period April 1, 2004, through June 30, 2005:

Violation Reported Violation
# Date Constituent Permitted Limit | Value Type
1 4/30/04 Dissolved Oxygen Greater than 2.0 mg/L 1.6 mg/L Chronic
2 7/24/04 Chlorine Residual No measurable chlorine residual 0.63 mg/L Serious
(<0.1 mg/L) :
3 8/26/04 Dissolved Oxygen Greater than 2.0 mg/L 0.3 mg/L Chronic
4 8/26/04 pH 6.5-8.3 6.3 Chronic
5 2/23/05 Dissolved Oxygen Greater than 2.0 mg/L 0.2 mg/L “Chronic
6 April Dry Weather Flow Rate | 1.2 MGD 1.90 MGD Serious
2005
7 5/10/05 Dissolved Oxygen Greater than 2.0 mg/L 1.6 mg/L Chronic
8 5/19/05 Dissolved Oxygen Greater than 2.0 mg/L 0.7 mg/L Chronic
9 5/21/05 pH 6.5-83 6.4 Chronic
10 | May 2005 | Dry Weather Flow Rate | 1.2 MGD , 1.907 MGD Serious
11 | 6/7/05 Chlorine Residual No measurable chlorine residual 0.18 mg/L Serious
(<0.1 mg/L) ;

! Footnote No. 1 of Monitoring and Reporting Program No. 01-001 states, “Compliance determinations for total
chlorine residual shall be based on 99% compliance. To determine 99% compliance with the effluent limitation
specified above for total chlorine residual, the following conditions shall be satisfied: (1) The total time during
which the total chlorine residual values are above 0.1 mg/L (instantaneous maximum value) shall not exceed 7 hours
and 26 minutes in any calendar month; (2) No individual excursion from 0.1 mg/L shall exceed 30 minutes; and (3)
No individual excursion shall exceed 2 mg/L.”
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Violation : Reported Violation
# Date Constituent Permitted Limit Value Type
12 | 6/24/05 Dissolved Oxygen Greater than 2.0 mg/L 0.23 mg/L. Chronic
13 | June 2005 | Dry Weather Flow Rate | 1.2 MGD_ 1.991 MGD Serious

10. According to Finding No. 9, the Discharger committed five serious violations in the period April 1, 2004
through June 30, 2005. The amount of the mandatory penalty for the serious violations (5 x $3,000) is
fifteen thousand dollars ($15,000).

11. According to Finding No. 9, the Discharger committed eight chronic violations in the period April 1, 2004
through June 30, 2005. California Water Code section 13385(i) requires the Central Coast Water Board to
assess a mandatory minimum penalty of three thousand dollars (83,000) for each violation, not counting
the first three, occurring in a consecutive six-month period. In this case, three effluent violations occurred
in the six months prior to the first violation listed in Finding No. 10, therefore none of these chronic
violations are exempt from mandatory penalty. The mandatory penalty for the above chronic violations (8
x $3,000) is twenty-four thousand dollars ($24,000).

12. The total amount of the mandatory penalty for violations occurring in the period April 1, 2004, through
June 30, 2005 ($15,000 + $24,000) is thirty-nine thousand dollars ($39,000).

THE CALIFORNIA DEPARTMENT OF CORRECTIONS, CALIFORNIA MEN’S COLONY IS
HEREBY GIVEN NOTICE THAT:

1. The Executive Officer of the Central Coast Water Board proposes that the Discharger be assessed a
Mandatory Penalty in the amount of thirty-nine thousand dollars ($39,000).

2. The Central Coast Water Board will hold a public hearing on this matter on December 2, 2005, unless the
Discharger agrees to waive its right to a public hearing by filling out, signing, and submitting the enclosed
“Waiver of Hearing.” If the Discharger chooses not to waive its right to a public hearing, the Central
Coast Water Board may proceed with the scheduled public hearing and consider testimony received from
interested persons during the public hearing and decide whether to accept the amount of Mandatory
Penalty proposed by the Executive Officer. The Central Coast Water Board may also decide to continue
the matter to a future hearing, direct the Executive Officer to reissue the Complaint to propose additional
penalties under California Water Code section 13385(c) and (e), or refer the matter to the State Attorney
General. The public hearing is scheduled at the regularly scheduled Central Coast Water Board meeting
on December 2, 2005, at the Central Coast Water Board Conference Room, 895 Aerovista Place, Suite
101, San Luis Obispo, California. The meeting is scheduled to begin at 8:30 a.m.; however, no specific
time has been set for consideration of this item.

If you have questions regarding this matter, please direct them to Central Coast Water Board staff, Matt
Thompson, at (805) 549-3159, or Harvey Packard at (805) 542-4639.

N oo

Roger W. Briggs Date
7" Executive Officer
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PROCEDURAL INFORMATION
FOR
MANDATORY MINIMUM PENALTY COMPLAINT
PUBLIC HEARING AND PAYMENT

WAIVER OF PUBLIC HEARING

You may waive your right to a public hearing. If you wish to waive your right to a public hearing, a duly
authorized person” must check, sign, and submit the following Waiver of the Right to a Public Hearing
form and pay the mandatory minimum penalty amount specified in the Complaint no later than October
12, 2005, 5:00 P.M. Please follow the payment instructions below.

If you choose to waive your right to a public hearing, and if full payment and a signed Waiver of the Right o
a Public Hearing form are received before the hearing, the hearing will not be held, and the violation will be
settled. If full payment and a signed Waiver of the Right to a Public Hearing form are not received, the
matter will be placed on the Central Coast Water Board’s agenda for a hearing as stated below.

If you do not waive your right to a public hearing, the Executive Officer will present an Order to the Central

Coast Water Board for the amount proposed in this Complaint at the Central Coast Water Board meeting on

December 2, 2005, at the Central Coast Water Board Conference Room, 895 Aerovista Place, Suite 101, San

Luis Obispo, California. The Central Coast Water Board will proceed with the scheduled hearing, consider

testimony received from interested persons during the hearing, and decide whether to accept the amount of
the mandatory minimum penalty proposed by the Executive Officer, or direct the Executive Officer to reissue

the complaint alleging increased liability pursuant to Water Code Section 13385(c) and (e). If the proposed

Order is adopted, payment of the mandatory minimum penalty to the State Water Resources Control Board.
will be due and payable no later than January 1, 2006, in accordance with the Order. If the proposed Order is

rejected, the Central Coast Water Board may direct the Executive Officer to issue a new complaint and

schedule another public hearing. The Central Coast Water Board may also decide to continue the matter to a

future hearing or refer it to the State Attorney General. The meeting is scheduled to begin at 8:30 AM,;

however, no specific time has been set for consideration of the Order.

PAYMENT OF MANDATORY MINIMUM PENALTY
No later than October 12, 2005, please make your check payable to State Water Resources Control
Board, and note “MMP Complaint No. R3-2005-0122” on the check. Please mail the check and signed
waiver form to:

SWRCB Accounting

Attn: Enforcement

P.O. Box 100

Sacramento, CA 95812-0100

Please also mail copies of the check and signed waiver form to:
Regional Water Quality Control Board
Attn: Matt Thompson
895 Aerovista Place, Suite 101
San Luis Obispo, CA 93401

2 A duly authorized person is defined as a principal executive officer of at least the level of vice president in a
corporation, a general partner or the proprietor in a partnership or sole proprietorship, a principal executive officer or
ranking elected official in a public agency, or a duly authorized representative.




WAIVER OF THE RIGHT TO A HEARING

[] By checking the box, I agree to waive my right to a hearing before the Central Coast Water Board with
regard to the violations alleged in Complaint No. R3-2005-0122. Also, I agree to remit payment for the
civil liability proposed. I understand that I am giving up my right to argue against the allegations made by
the Executive Officer in this Complaint, and against the imposition or amount of proposed civil liability.

Signature

Printed Name

Title/Position’

Date

3 A duly authorized person must sign the waiver. A duly authorized person is defined as a principal executive
officer of at least the level of vice president in a corporation, a general partner or the proprietor in a partnership, a
principal executive officer or ranking elected official in a public agency, or a representative authorized in writing by
a vice president or higher ranking corporate officer, general partner, principal executive officer or ranking elected

official.




