
 
 
 

 

Fact Sheet – Requirements for Submitting Technical Reports 
Under Section 13267 of the California Water Code 

 
 

What does it mean when the Regional Water 
Board requires a technical report? 
Section 132671 of the California Water Code 
provides that “…the regional board may require that 
any person who has discharged, discharges, or who is 
suspected of having discharged or discharging, or 
who proposes to discharge waste...that could affect 
the quality of waters...shall furnish, under penalty of 
perjury, technical or monitoring program reports 
which the regional board requires.” 
 
This requirement for a technical report seems to 
mean that I am guilty of something, or at least 
responsible for cleaning something up. What if 
that is not so? 
The requirement for a technical report is a tool the 
Regional Water Board uses to investigate water 
quality issues or problems. The information provided 
can be used by the Regional Water Board to clarify 
whether a given party has responsibility. 
 
Are there limits to what the Regional Water 
Board can ask for? 
Yes. The information required must relate to an 
actual or suspected or proposed discharge of waste 
(including discharges of waste where the initial 
discharge occurred many years ago), and the burden 
of compliance must bear a reasonable relationship to 
the need for the report and the benefits obtained. The 
Regional Water Board is required to explain the 
reasons for its request. 
 
What if I can provide the information, but not by 
the date specified? 
A time extension may be given for good cause. Your 
request should be promptly submitted in writing, 
giving reasons. 

                                                
1 All code sections referenced herein can be found by going to 
www.leginfo.ca.gov. 

Are there penalties if I don’t comply? 
Depending on the situation, the Regional Water 
Board can impose a fine of up to $5,000 per day, and 
a court can impose fines of up to $25,000 per day as 
well as criminal penalties. A person who submits 
false information or fails to comply with a 
requirement to submit a technical report may be 
found guilty of a misdemeanor. For some reports, 
submission of false information may be a felony. 
 
Do I have to use a consultant or attorney to 
comply? 
There is no legal requirement for this, but as a 
practical matter, in most cases the specialized nature 
of the information required makes use of a consultant 
and/or attorney advisable. 
 
What if I disagree with the 13267 requirements 
and the Regional Water Board staff will not 
change the requirement and/or date to comply? 
You may ask that the Regional Water Board 
reconsider the requirement, and/or submit a petition 
to the State Water Resources Control Board. See 
California Water Code sections 13320 and 13321 for 
details. A request for reconsideration to the Regional 
Water Board does not affect the 30-day deadline 
within which to file a petition to the State Water 
Resources Control Board.   
 
If I have more questions, whom do I ask? 
Requirements for technical reports include the name, 
telephone number, and email address of the Regional 
Water Board staff contact. 
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