

BOARD OF DIRECTORS

President Dr. Joseph Ovick Contra Costa County President-Elect Mr. Michael Watkins Santa Cruz County Past President Mr. Joseph Silva **Tuolumne** County Treasurer Ms. Gayle Garbolino-Mojica Placer County State & Federal Legislative **Committee Chair** Mr. David Gordon Sacramento Countu **Executive Director** Mr. Peter Birdsall

REGION CHAIRS **Region 1 Chair** Dr. Garry Eagles Humboldt Countu **Region 2 Chair** Mr. Gary Jones Modoc County **Region 3 Chair** Ms. Holly Hermansen Nevada County **Region 4 Chair** Ms. Sheila Jordan Alameda County **Region 5 Chair** Mr. Mike Sanchez San Benito County **Region 6 Chair** Dr. Mick Founts San Joaquin County **Region 7 Chair** Dr. Cecilia Massetti Madera Countu **Region 8** Chair Dr. Christine Lizardi Frazier Kern County **Region 9 Chair** Ms. Anne Mallory Imperial County **Region 10 Chair** Dr. Stacey Adler Mono County **Region 11 Chair** Dr. Arturo Delgado Los Angeles County

COMMITTEE CHAIRS **Business Partnerships** Dr. Vicki Barber El Dorado County **Business and** Administration (BASC) Mr. Jim Thomas San Joaquin Countu Curriculum and Instruction (CISC) Ms. Sue Stickel Sacramento County Personnel and Administration (PASSCo) Ms. Christin Newlon San Luis Obispo County Student Programs and Services (SPSSC) Mr. Rick Martin Orange County Technology and **Telecommunications (TTSC)** Mr. Richard Quinones Los Angeles County

California County Superintendents Educational Services Association

1121 L Street • Suite 510 • Sacramento, CA 95814 • (916) 446-3095 • FAX (916) 448-7801 • www.ccsesa.org

July 18, 2012

Jeanie Townsend, Clerk to the Board State Water Resources Control Board 1001 I Street, 24th Floor Sacramento, CA 95814



Public Comment

RE: Comment Letter - 2nd Draft Phase II Small MS4 General Permit.

Dear Ms. Townsend:

On behalf of the California County Superintendent's Educational Services Association (CCSESA), I am writing to offer the following comments on the proposed draft General Permit for Storm Water Discharges from Small MS4s (revised draft Tentative Order) released for public comment on May 1, 2012.

CCSESA commends the Board for recognizing California's Permitee diversity and for recognizing that one set of prescriptive requirements would not work for our state.

We appreciate that the proposal recognizes County Offices of Education as eligible for the non-traditional MS4s category, along with charter schools and school districts.

County Offices of Education are an integral part of California's school system. In fact, the California Education Code 12000 defines "school districts" as school districts, County Offices of Education, and other educational agencies pursuant to state and federal law. Education Code 12000 is used by regulatory agencies to treat County Offices of Education like school districts.

In addition, CCSESA respectfully requests the inclusion of "County Offices of Education" in the language of the Storm Water Discharges from Small Municipal Separate Storm Sewer Systems Order where "school districts" are referenced to avoid confusion and/or misinterpretation.

We note that the revised draft order excludes school districts and community colleges under the section: "<u>Entities Subject to this Order, Section C.</u>" Our request is for the order to add County Offices of Education to the list of agencies explicitly excluded.

Thank you for your consideration to these comments.

Sincerely,

Sandra S. Morales, Legislative Advocate